Customer Reviews

Based on 8 reviews
50%
(4)
13%
(1)
38%
(3)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
S
Sera Tan
Thoughtful consultants

BC is punctual every visit. She is good at what she do and truly cares for my needs. :)

T
Tracie Fitzpatrick
Overall okay

Seemed a little rushed but it was still lovely

Hi Tracie,

Yuki here from The First Refresh✨

We completely hear and understand your concern! We have taken your feedback and gently reminded our Beauty Consultant team to check in with you regularly during the session, if you’d like any part of the service to be done at a slower pace, feel free to share that with your Beauty Consultant as well

Our customer service team has communicated with you via Whatspp on your concern earlier, hoping we have helped resolve the issue! Looking forward to serving you at your next Refresh :)

L
Lydia Ong
Great experience

Always a great experience with Angeline. Very punctual and customer service oriented. Her face massage was absolutely superb it put me to sleep! Thanks Angeline!

C
Carolyn
Facial was overall okay!

The beauty consultant was about 10 min late. Facial was overall ok although she could have been a bit more gentle with the extraction

Hi Carolyn,

We're sorry to hear that your Refresh Experience did not go as expected. We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share your thoughts - we have documented your feedback for internal review and will use this to continually improve your Refresh Experience in the future :)

We do not take this feedback likely, rest assured that we will gently remind our Beauty Consultant team to ensure that any risk factors, recommendations, or client's preferences are well communicated before they proceed and execute the service and ensure to check the client once in a while to see that everything is okay during the session.

We truly hope that we will be able to exceed your expectations at your next Refresh - if you would like to request a different beauty consultant to serve you next time, or if there is anything you would like us to take note of, do let us know as well.

Feel free to reach out if there is anything else we can do to help :)

E
Elle Chen
Elle Chen

Today's facial was a bit disappointing

Hi Elle! We're sorry to hear that your Refresh Experience did not go as expected this time around. We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share your thoughts - we have documented your feedback for internal review and will use this to continually improve your Refresh Experience in the future :)

We have noted your request that you prefer to have your usual Facial Therapist on your future bookings, our team has personally reached out to you and hope we have resolved the issue regarding your concern. We do not take this feedback likely, rest assured that we will gently remind our Beauty Consultant team to ensure that any risk factors, recommendations, service protocol, or client's preferences are well communicated before they proceed and execute the service. We truly hope that we will be able to exceed your expectations at your next Refresh. If there is anything you would like us to take note of, do let us know as well.

Feel free to reach out if there is anything else we can do to help :)